In additions to the national board, NJF has sections. The sections are the core entity of NJF. The sections deal with current issues in specific areas and arrange activities within their field of interest.

NJF has the following sections:

  • Animals – Welfare, Production and Management
  • Economy – Education and Society
  • Environment and Climate
  • Food and Agriculture
  • Reindeer husbandry
  • Technology and Innovation

A section board may set up working groups, for instance in order to:

  • Arrange conferences, courses, etc.
  • Establish and develop co-operation
  • Clarify questions regarding research methodology, terminology etc.
  • Compare available research results
  • Prepare plans for common research assignments which can be solved more appropriately through co-operation or work distribution.

The section board is organized by representatives of the National associations. A new board is chosen every four years.

The new section boards are appointed for the period July 1st 2019 – June 30th 2023.

Animal section

Mission is to increase knowledge needed for the development of Nordic domestic animal production through joint efforts, and to develop biological and economical animal production systems in balance with the environment and that fulfill public expectations. Among the important arguments for strengthening domestic animal production in the Nordic countries are securing the supply of safe and high quality food, minimising imported nutrients, and maintaining a sustainable rural economy. In addition, companion animals, equines and fur animals are included.  The main interests are livestock systems, environmental issues, breeding, genetics and biotechnology, animal nutrition and feeding, feed evaluation and quality, animal health and welfare, equine science, and fur animal and companion animal science.

Chairperson

Liga Paura, liga.paura@llu.lv

Secretary

Ragnar Leming, ragnar.leming@emu.ee

Section board members

Gudmundur Jóhannesson, mundi@rml.is

Katarina Arvidsson Segerkvist, Katarina.Segerkvist@slu.se

Ole Kristensen, mossoehoej@gmail.com

Terhi Mehtiö, terhi.mehtio@luke.fi

Tor Mikael Lassen, mikael@lassen-feed-consult.dk

Diana Ruska, Diana.ruska@llu.lv

Abdelaziz A. A. Mohammed, abdelaziz.adam.abdelkarim.mohammed@nmbu.no; ababadams702@gmail.com

Stine Hjarnø Jørgensen, shj@seges.dk

Leif Jarle Asheim, leif-jarle.asheim@nibio.no

Economy section

The main objectives of the economics section are to enhance the scientific knowledge, research cooperation, exchange of ideas and experiences among agricultural economists in the Nordic and Baltic countries in the fields of micro- and macroeconomics, food economics, resource and environmental economics and rural economic development. The section also tries to develop and strengthen our cooperation with other sections of NJF. The strategic focus areas are identification and resolution of unique economic problems related to agriculture and the food industry in all the Nordic and Baltic countries, interdisciplinary cooperation with biological and social research teams and institutions, and cooperation with economists and economic research institutions in European and other countries.

Chairperson

Jarkko Niemi, jarkko.niemi@luke.fi

Vice chairperson

Baiba Rivza, Baiba.Rivza@llu.lv

Section board members

Sigríður Ólafsdóttir, so@rml.is

Kristina Holmström, kristina.holmstrom@slu.se

Darius Jazepčikas, darius.jazepcikas@asu.lt

Rando Värnik, rando.varnik@emu.ee

Environment section

The Environment section promotes development of sustainable cultivation systems, based on efficient use of plant nutrients and proper soil and water management. The section works on reducing the consumption of limited natural resources and counteracting environmental problems. The focus is on the environmental aspects of nutrients and water in the soil-plant-atmosphere system, the effect of fertilisation methods and animal manure application, tillage methods, drainage and irrigation on the leaching of nutrients and other contaminants, as well as gaseous emissions. The section also works with measures taken outside the field to minimise losses of nutrients and contaminants to surface waters, groundwater or the atmosphere. Maintaining the biodiversity of the cultivated landscape and promoting advanced landscape planning and architecture are other goals of the section.

Chair person

Magdalena Bieroza, Magdalena.bieroza@slu.se

Section board members

Asko Simojoki , asko.simojoki@helsinki.fi

Guðrún Lárusdóttir, gurra@lbhi.is

Ainis Lagzdins, ainis.lagzdins@llu.lv

Danutė Karčauskienė, danute.karcauskiene@lammc.lt

Svein Skøien, svein.skoien@nlr.no

Plants section

The plant section covers crop production, plant protection and soil science. Current tasks focus on food safety, food quality and cultivation techniques throughout the production chain. Improved cropping systems are required to satisfy the need for higher productivity and product quality with an associated low environmental impact. Special emphasis is given on aspects typical of the Nordic/Baltic countries.

Chairperson

Kirsty McKinnon, Kirsty.mckinnon@norsok.no

Secretary

Anita Gunnarsson, Anita.Gunnarsson@slu.se

Section board members

Hrannar Smári Hilmarsson, hrannar@lbhi.is

Livija Zarina, lzar@inbox.lv

Marjo Keskitalo, marjo.keskitalo@luke.fi

Mati Koppel, mati.koppel@jpbi.ee, mati.koppel@etki.ee

Sigitas Lazauskas, sigislaz@lzi.lt

Plants section working groups

  • Herbage seed production

Chairperson Lars T. Havstad, lars.havstad@nibio.no

Delegates: Birte Boelt, birte.boelt@agro.au.dk; Gunilla Larsson, gunilla.larsson@svenskraps.se, Rene Aavola, rene.aavola@etki.ee; Markku Niskanen, markku.niskanen@luke.fi

  • IPM-North working group

Chairperson Matti Koppel, matti.koppel@jpbi.ee

Delegates: Pauliina Laitinen, Pauliina.laitinen@tukes.fi, Lise Nistrup Jörgensen, lisen.jorgensen@agro.au.dk, Biruta Bankina, biruta.bankina@llu.lv, Roma Semaskiene, roma@lzi.lt, Ann-Charlotte Wallenhammar, ann-charlotte.wallenhammar@slu.se, Guro Brodal, guro.brodal@nibio.no, Kari Tiilikkala, Kari.tiilikkala@luke.fi

  • Nematology working group

Chairperson Christer Magnusson, christer.magnusson@nibio.no

Delegates: Anne Christine Helms, Plantedirektoratet, Denmark, Eha Svilponis, eha.svilponis@emu.ee, Kari Tiilikkala, kari.tiilikkala@luke.fi, Maria Viketoft, maria.viketoft@slu.se

  • Organic farming systems

Chairperson Pirjo Siiskonen, pirjo.siiskonen@helsinki.fi

Delegates: Maria Wivstad, Sweden, maria.wivstad@slu.se, Kirsi Partanen, Finland, kirsi.partanen@snellman.fi, Sirli Pehme, Estonia, sirli.pehme@emu.ee, Anne-Kristin Løes, anne-kristin.loes@norsok.no

  • Plant nutrition

Chairperson Jörgen Eriksen, jorgen.eriksen@agro.au.dk

Delegates: Kari Ylivainio, kari.ylivainio@ luke.fi , Holger Kirchmann, holger.kirchmann@slu.se, Sigurdur Gudmundsson, sthg@lrml.is, Anne-Kristin Løes, anne-kristin.loes@norsok.no, Aldis Karklins, aldis.karklins@llu.lv, Sigitas Lazauskas, sigislaz@lzi.lt, Merrit Shanskiy, merrit.shanskiy@emu.ee

  • Plant protection in sustainable berry production

Chairperson Nina Trandem, nina.trandem@nibio.no

Delegates: Päivi Parikka, paivi.parikka@luke.fi

  • Soil Science- Soil carbon and land use

Chairperson Merrit Shanskiy, merrit.shanskiy@emu.ee

Delegates: Harri Lilja, harri.lilja@luke.fi, Bo Stenberg, bo.stenberg@slu.se, Torsteinn Gudmundsson, gudmund@t-online.de

  • Weeds

Chairperson Jukka Salonen, jukka.salonen@luke.fi

Delegates: Anneli Lundkvist, anneli.lundkvist@slu.se, Bo Melander, bo.melander@agro.au.dk, Lars Olav Brandsaeter, lars.olav.brandsaeter@nibio.no

Reindeer husbandry

The reindeer section promotes research on reindeer husbandry related issues in the Nordic countries. A central aim is to accomplish networking between scientists from different disciplines, countries and research organisations, as well as between science and end-users (reindeer husbandry, management agencies and others) and thereby stimulate knowledge building and research cooperation. We also wish to integrate young researchers and students into reindeer husbandry-related research. Our vision is to contribute to maintaining reindeer husbandry as a resilient social-ecological system.

The establishment of the Reindeer Husbandry Section is a consequence of the closure of the previous contact forum, NOR (Nordic Council for Reindeer Husbandry Research; http://site.uit.no/rangifer/. As a well-established member organisation, NJF has the prospect of continuing the previous role of NOR as a contact forum and for e.g. arranging research conferences and initiating joint research projects. An independent section for reindeer husbandry research at NJF is justified by the multidisciplinary field, which covers a range of diverse themes within natural and social science and humanities.

The permanent Section Board will consist of at least one representative each for reindeer husbandry research in Norway, Sweden and Finland, and possibly representatives from Iceland and Greenland too. Board members may be appointed from other member countries if they are interested in joining; at least one representative from a reindeer herders’ organisation; a representative from a relevant management agency; if available, a contact person representing reindeer husbandry related research in Russia.

Chairperson

Birgitta Åhman, Birgitta.ahman@slu.se

Section board members

Kirsi Muuttoranta, kirsi.muuttoranta@luke.fi,

Svein Morten Eilertsen, svein.eilertsen@nibio.no

Technology section 

The actitivies of the  technology section aims to ensure a sustainable material cycle in agriculture, from field to fork and back to field, which includes high quality food as well as non-food products like fibre, energy, landscape values for recreation, sports and tourism. This production must be sustainably maintained in perspectives considering food safety and quality, animal welfare, working conditions, environmental impact, biodiversity, economy, society and development of living rural areas. The Technology section works from a Nordic perspective in an international world including interaction between agricultural research and farmers, industry and consumers.

Chairperson

vacant

Vice chairperson

Gints Bierzietis, Gints.Birzietis@llu.lv

Section board members

Sven Bernesson, sven_bernesson@hotmail.comSven.Bernesson@slu.se

Alastair Ward, alastair.ward@eng.au.dk

Antti Lajunen, antti.lajunen@helsinki.fi

Kesutis, Venslauskas, kestutis.venslauskas@vdu.lt

Nils Bjugstad, nils.bjugstad@nmbu.no

Oliver Sada, oliver.sada@mail.ee

Sigtryggur Veigar Herbertsson, sigtryggur@rml.is

Vitalijs Osadcuks, vitalijs.osadcuks@llu.lv

Technology section working groups

  • Bioenergy working group

Chairperson John Morken, john.morken@nmbu.no

  • Farm buildings working group

Chairperson Tapani Kivinen, tapani.kivinen@luke.fi